Who We Are

On May 30, 1973, two asthma community members met with leading Canadian physicians in the field of asthma to discuss the formation of a new Canadian organization dedicated to raising funds solely for the purpose of relieving those suffering from asthma. This organization became known as The Asthma Society of Canada (ASC).

Following a founding meeting held on November 12, 1973, working committees were established and the task of turning an idea into reality was set in motion.

Early in 1974, the federal government notified the ASC that the charter was accepted and would be placed into effect as of December 28, 1973. Judy Godfrey, the founding President, recruited Dr. Cecil Collins-Williams of the Toronto General Hospital, Dr. Irvin Broder of the Gage Research Institute and Dr. Harold Williams of the Crippled Children’s Centre to form a Professional Advisory Committee. Shortly afterward, the ASC obtained its non-profit charitable status from Revenue Canada.

The inaugural reception of the ASC took place on July 13, 1974, and was met with enthusiasm by the many guests in attendance. This was followed by several high-profile fundraising events that would continue to focus on education in the subsequent years.

Since the founding of the Asthma Society of Canada in 1973, the organization has undergone significant developments. In 2017, the Asthma Society of Canada formally changed its name to Asthma Canada to better reflect its current priorities, values and future direction. The change signifies an organizational shift from a narrow focus on those living with asthma to a more inclusive focus on all Canadians impacted by asthma.

Today, Asthma Canada continues its strong mandate to provide asthma education to all Canadians, broadening its scope to include support services, research and advocacy.

Our Strategy

What We Do